Uninsured Motorists – Higher in Florida!

By: Allison Lane

Did you know. . . Florida is Number 5 in the Country for the Most Uninsured Drivers?

What does that mean to you?  If you are in a car accident that is caused by an uninsured driver, and you do not have uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage on your automobile policy, you essentially have no protection.  By only carrying liability coverage on your automobile insurance policy, you are protecting someone else that you may injure in an accident, but you are not protecting yourself or the passengers in your car, from the negligence of an uninsured driver or a hit and run.

Recent studies show that 23% of drivers in the State of Florida are uninsured.  This drastically high statistic is expected to increase in 2010. The studies show a strong correlation between uninsured drivers and unemployment.

In Florida, drivers are required to carry personal injury protection in the amount of $10,000.00, to pay for medical bills caused by the accident, 60% of lost wages and 60% household expenses.  Florida also requires its drivers to carry property damage in the amount of $10,000.00, to pay for property damage to another driver’s vehicle, but not the driver’s own vehicle. Florida law does not require Florida motorists to carry liability insurance or uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage.

If you find yourself in an unfortunate economic situation, do not cancel your uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage.  The only way to protect yourself against uninsured drivers in Florida is to obtain Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist Coverage.  Please contact Balkan & Patterson, LLP, or your insurance agent to confirm that your automobile insurance coverage is sufficient to protect you and your family, before it is too late.

Comments are closed.